My Apology re: the “Not Vedic” Post

I can see now that some people have severely misunderstood some of the things I said in my “You are not Vedic” post and I feel that I must issue a sincere apology.

❀❀❀

Some people were shocked by what appeared to them as “anti-vedic and anti-Indian” statements. I sincerely apologize to any and all who misunderstood my words as anti-Indian or anti-Vedic.

It is hard for me to believe that anyone would imagine me (someone who will bhangra dance to “I love my India”) to be anti-Indian or anti-Vedic. But somehow they did, so I apologize sincerely.

I think the main problem comes with my use of language and my tone. Indian people, in my experience, are not at all comfortable with strong language and “curse words” or “foul language.” By contrast, I am from an Italian family, raised in Long Island New York, and spent my teenage pre-āśram years in the Hardcore Punk scene associated with New York’s Lower East Side. In my native culture, we use strong language to signify honesty and passion more often than we use them to signify anger, hatred, etc.

We cannot understand statements without context. To get context we must consider (a) the personality, background and mind-set of the person who made the statement, and (b) the statements made before and after this one, and the message of the entire piece of text in which the statement appears.

Here are some statements I was told struck people as offensive. I will take the opportunity to clarify what I actually meant.

❀❀❀

Some were angered by my statement, “being really “Vedic” is a real pain in the ass.”

This means that it is very difficult to truly be Vedic, and this is why so few people do it, even though so many would like to be considered “Vedic.”

❀❀❀

Another statement that confused some was, “This will work especially well if they are more “Indian” and more elderly than you, or in whatever way, shape or form have more tenure somewhere supposedly important. They’ll say, “You don’t know what you are talking about. I do. Go away.”

What I am talking about here is that when you question someone who is uncomfortable being questioned, they will try to use the “authority card” to silence you. Claiming authority in Vedic astrology can be based on a number of factors, one of which includes actually being born and raised in India.

❀❀❀

Another line some people did not like: “And when what you say is not in line [with what the Vedas say], expect to see posts like this announcing, “bullshit alert!””

I have my natural birth culture and samskara. I don’t think it needs to be whitewashed or erased except where it actually don’t conform with siddhānta. I can write in a scholarly tone, and I can also write in a street language tone. I enjoy doing both. Please permit me to “be myself” from time to time. Please do not take it as an insult.

I sincerely apologize for confusion my language and tone caused. Please do not be alarmed by it next time it pops up.

❀❀❀

Some thought that the very nature of the article, boldly challenging as it was, was anti-vedic due to lacking humility.

I would humbly like to submit that you may not always recognize humility. Hanuman attacked Śrī Lanka, for example. There was no flaw in his humility.

I am not the best example of humility, I am not trying to pretend to be. All I am saying is that a bold challenge is not inherently lacking humility, and therefore very vedic schools hold challenges and debates all the time.

❀❀❀

I would like to close by summarizing the main point of the post in question, without any colorful language:

My point is really just this: if anyone says something is “Vedic” and can’t demonstrate that with a reference, why should we believe them? And if we happen to know that what comes from the Veda is really quite different then what they claim is Vedic, we certainly have every right to doubt and discount their claim.

My second point is that if they say that the Vedas themselves (which includes its angas, upanishads, itihasa, Purāṇa, etc.) are irrelevant and unimportant, yet also claim to be “Vedic” why should we tolerate that? That is against the very essence of what it means to be Vedic (not merely a difference in cultural detail).

Thank you for reading,

Vic DiCara

www.vicdicara.com

