Interpretation Basics About the “Five Great Persons” Yoga (Panca-Mahapurusha)

Solar system
Image by Neilwill via Flickr

The 6th chapter of the classic Phaladeepika gives very, very essential information about how to scope your interpretation of panch-mahapurush yogas (which occur when one of the five real planets – mars, mercury, jupiter, venus, or saturn – is in its own sign or exalted and also in an angle – houses 1, 4, 7, or 10).

First of all, it says to evaluate the yoga from both the Ascendant and the Moon.

Second it says to count the recurrences of the yoga.

Considering both the Ascendant and the Moon the maximum number of yogas possible is ten (since there are five planets who each have two chances to form the yoga). This would be extremely rare. Using the phaladeepika guidelines, you should scope the context of the effects of any mahapurusha yoga according to the following:

One or two counts scopes the results we will discuss in the context of bringing “fortune.” Three or four elevates the context to “kingly.” Five or Six, and the results are literally to be a king or ruler of significant political power. Seven or Eight makes the context of the results below produce an “emperor.” Nine or ten is “superior to an emperor.”

– Vic DiCara


  1. Baba says:

    Hi Vic,

    If Mercury is exalted in ascendant (Virgo Lagna) (great dignity 16 and potency 1.43) and even Saturn is present (12 in dignity and 1.1 in potency) in Ascendant, is the Bhadra yoga cancelled in entirety ??

    Please reply at ur convenience



    1. The mahapurusha yogas under discussion in this post work best, in my opinion, when the planet is alone – without conjunction. I think the exception to this rule is if the conjunction causes another significant yoga.


      1. Baba says:

        Thanks Vic,

        Got the hint, if there was one.

        Thanks again!


Comments are closed.