Thoughts About the Earthquake Disaster in Japan

I would like to open this discussion to other astrologers, so I will enable comments and welcome input.

I am looking at a chart of Miyagi, Japan on March 11, 2011 at 14:41. I am not really looking much at houses, so if there is a better time it wont make much difference to the initial observations I have to make.

I notice an ominous formation here:

(A) All the planets are hemmed between the lunar nodes, Rahu and Ketu.

(B) Saturn is the only planet outside the hem, and is therefore the focus of all the energy of most of these planets aspects. (near perfect aspects from Mars, Mercury and Jupiter and a somewhat significant aspect from the Sun)

(C) Saturn disperses the brunt of its own aspect upon the two nodes and Jupiter (54/60 to Rahu, 43/60 to Ketu, 49/60 to Jupiter)

(D) Saturn was with phenomenal shad-bala strength (196%) and low vimshopaka dignity (9/20)

(E) An undignified Mars (9/20) puts a nearly full aspect (57/60) to Saturn.

(F) Rahu in Moola (Ketu’s nakshatra). Mars in Satabhishaka (Rahu’s Nakshatra).

The Navamsha of this event is also asking to be observed. In that Chart the axis of the lunar nodes lines up with the Sun and Jupiter. Saturn perfectly aspects Mercury, and Saturn and the Moon exchange houses.

I would appreciate your comments and additional observations.

– Vic DiCara

3 thoughts on “Thoughts About the Earthquake Disaster in Japan

  1. Thanks Vic…glad you are safe…you listed the key ingredients. I am looking at my list of indicators and see a few more. Mercury is a key in earthquakes as a karaka of the Earth element. Ketu is squaring Mercury and Jupiter is in conjunction with Mercury, which are also big factors in addition to the almost full kala sarpa yoga that you discussed. Also, Uranus is in 1H of D-9. Moon is fairly close in degree to the lagna for epicenter event, which is another common indicator. Mercury is dispositing Ketu in 12H. Pluto and Saturn conjoin in 12H of D-9. Sun is in a malefic nakshatra (Purvabhadrapada). Yogakaraka Mars in a dusthana. Having most of the grahas at minus declination is another common factor.

  2. Now….I know its outside of thee Jyotish lens, but ah…..Uranus did move into Aries today. I feel this Ingress has tons to do with the Earthquakes, and also why I’ve already hit my head twice today in the most random of ways! lol…..

    Keep up the good work & I hope you are safe my friend!


  3. The time is a little different from the one you posted. Here is the info on the web:
    Friday, March 11, 2011 at 05:46:23 UTC
    Friday, March 11, 2011 at 02:46:23 PM at epicenter
    Time of Earthquake in other Time Zones
    38.322°N, 142.369°E
    24.4 km (15.2 miles) set by location program
    130 km (80 miles) E of Sendai, Honshu, Japan
    178 km (110 miles) E of Yamagata, Honshu, Japan
    178 km (110 miles) ENE of Fukushima, Honshu, Japan
    373 km (231 miles) NE of TOKYO, Japan

Comments are closed.