How Signs Get Their Qualities (Gemini & Virgo as Examples)

There are 12 zodiac signs – constellation regions through which the planets move. Each one has it’s own unique traits. How do they get these traits? They get their traits primarily from the planet who owns them.

In astrology signs are places in the heavens and planets are beings – people. Just like people own houses, countries, etc – the planets own the signs. Every planet is a being with inherent qualities, just like every person has inherent personality traits. A sign get its traits from the personality traits of the planet which owns it.

Each sign is also composed of a different element, gender, and direction. The traits of the ruling planet get modified and made more unique as they filter through these aspects of each sign.

Here are the planets, their most essential trait, and what signs they own. You will be able to see how these traits permeate their signs.

Planet Quality Sign 1 Sign 2
Moon Mind (private emotions) Cancer
Sun Identity (public ego) Leo
Mercury Intellect Gemini Virgo
Venus Senses Taurus Libra
Mars Ambition Aries Scorpio
Jupiter Faith Pisces Sagittarius
Saturn Reality Aquarius Capricorn

Do note that the other planets (Rahu, Ketu – and the outer astronomical planets) do not play a role in authentic astrology as it was revealed in ancient times. If you think a bit about the beautiful perfect symmetry in the chart above it will probably start to become clear to you why this is so.

Example of Mercury’s Two Signs: Gemini & Virgo

Mercury owns two signs which appear to be quite different in many ways. Let’s therefore use them as an example of how to use the above info to truly understand the characteristics of the signs.

Mercury is intellect and that is the dominant trait which will create the characteristics of both Virgo and Gemini. Let’s see how.

What Virgo and Gemini have in common is that they both belong to Mercury. But they have other important differences which cause the essential nature of Mercury to manifest different traits for each sign. These are the differences:

  • Gender: Gemini is “masculine” (extroverting) and Virgo is “feminine” (introverting)
  • Element: Gemini is air, Virgo is earth
  • House: Gemini is the 3rd House of the zodiac, Virgo is the 6th

Let’s just take gender first. Gemini has masculine gender so when Mercury’s personality trait (intellect) exhibits itself in gemini it becomes “extroverting intellect” – this results in Gemini’s classical traits of loving to communicate and talk, being quick witted, and being on a sort of quest to find fun and excitement.

Virgo, on the other hand has feminine gender, so Mercury’s intellect becomes “introverting” here, making it very strong, but palpably withdrawn and cautious of over-extending itself, reserved, and therefore appearing timid or vulnerable to others.

If you consider the other differences between the two places in the sky (Gemini and Virgo)  it will all become even clearer. Gemini is air, which makes Mercury’s intelligence incline towards quickness & fun (pleasurable sensations – air moving across skin); while the earth of Virgo makes the same intellect of Mercury seek practical things like reliability and practicality.

Finally, Gemini is the 3rd house of the Zodiac (being the 3rd of the 12 zodiac signs). Therefore Mercury’s intellect expresses itself here in context of the Astrological 3rd House – Making it even more disposed towards communicating (talking) and gives it some aptitude for having fun while enjoying ones own ambitious desires. Virgo, on the other hand, is the 6th House of the zodiac – causing Mercury’s intellect to become apt with painstaking work, chores, and being somewhat well suited to medical or health fields.

Go On…

I encourage you to try repeating with the other planets and signs what I’ve done above for Mercury and his two signs, Virgo and Gemini.


Vic DiCara


One Comment

  1. charmvirgo says:

    Hi, I like reading astrology blogs and you have a nice page.

    (I only have one article myself:
    and I am hoping to add more but my mercury in Libra is very slow at it. You can remove my wordpress link from the comment if you want, as it is meant for you rather than your blog traffic.)


Comments are closed.