Water_flow_by_S7ich

Prayer to Waters (and Saturn)

Water, you kindly grant life
In which we can find happiness.

Please grant us your most auspicious nourishing essence
Like a mother feeding her beloved

You carry us happily to far destinations
And give us strength for procreation

Waters that we drink, you are goddesses bringing aid and bliss
Let your health and strength stream to us

Come in a flood to heal us, goddess queens ruling precious things
Supreme controllers of men

The Moon God (Soma) told me that water holds the power of every medicine
And holds within her the all-blessing God

Waters, you are full of medicine, protecting my body
So that I may live long under the Sun

My faults, my evils, my lies
Wash them away, O water

Water, with this prayer I seek the blessing of your Moisture
Send forth God, the nourisher, to bath me in light

This is ninth prayer from the tenth chapter of the world’s oldest surviving book, the Rg Veda. The ancient founder of my school of astrology, Sage Parashara, prescribes meditation on the fourth line of this prayer (in bold) to pacify problems astrologically related to Saturn.

The Sanskrit for this fourth line is:

शं नो देवीरभिष्टय

अापो भवन्तु पीतये

शं योरभि स्रवन्तु नः

shamn no deviirabhizhTaya

aapo bhavantu piitaye

shamn yorabhi srvantu naH


- Vic DiCara
© 2010 Vic DiCara, All Rights Reserved

